Homemade Christmas decorations

My daughter loves hearts at the moment and bought some felt heart shaped decorations that she spotted when we were out. I thought we could have a go at making some so here is what we did.

Materials –

Wadding
Felt
Fabric scissors
Paper scissors
Ribbon
Paper/card
Pencil
Embroidery needle
Embroidery thread

We also used a leather hole punch to make holes because my daughter has shown an interest when watching me sew and I thought it might make it easy for her to have a go.

IMG_0213.JPG

We cut out a heart shape from some card and used this as a template for cutting x2 felt shapes. Then cut some wadding and trimmed 1cm off. We stitched the ribbon in a loop on the inside.

IMG_0214.JPG

My daughter found it a bit tricky to get the hang of putting the needle in both holes together so it was a team effort, I put the needle through and she pulled the thread through.

IMG_0215-1.JPG

<a

We did a simple blanket stitch and finished just as tiny one woke up from her nap…

IMG_0216.JPG

Looks great on the tree so I have started making one with some embroidered wording for tiny one’s First Christmas

IMG_0217.JPG

Leave a Reply

