Loneliness in a crowded room

There’s a loneliness that’s very real even in a room full of people and sometimes the things/experiences/relationships that we expect to make us happy can sometimes leave us feeling the ache of emptiness so much more. Wherever we are there is NO situation Our Wonderful Counselor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace can’t lead us out of and into the most indescribable deep joy. Please don’t despair, ANYWHERE you are just ask Jesus, believe in Him, depend on Him, trust him, hand it ALL over to him. He will come for you. 

Years ago I stood in a bookshop’s self help section looking for the possible causes for the ache in my heart; was it because I didn’t have enough of something or was it because of hurtful experiences. On the outside it was all fine; I lived my days for having fun but deep in my heart there was a relentless longing I couldn’t ignore, mask or fix. I went home overwhelmed and empty handed. Soon after, I broke and fell to my knees on my bedroom floor and turned it all over to God. I felt so sorry and told him I was ready for him to take the lead in my life. He came to me instantly. A crushing weight lifted off my body, the power of this release brings me to tears even a decade later. Then the most perfect, pure, powerful warmth of love flooded my heart. That’s the day I met our rescuer, our constant friend, our counselor, our healer, the light in the darkness, our restorer, the one who NEVER fails, the truth that exposes the lies, perfection that brings forward my imperfections, love in its purest form, our Saviour, our forgiving and gentle guide. After choosing to get to know Jesus I see his gentleness, I see that he had been there all along, he had been waiting for me through all those years but I hadn’t recognised him, I had doubted him, avoided him, even laughed at him. Whoever we are, whatever we’ve done or not done Jesus died for us. He overcame death to give us LIFE. He came to set us free; free from pain, free from misery, free from the punishment of death. Our hearts were not created for sadness, fear, depression, worry or grief they were made for full, constant, overflowing, everlasting joy and peace that’s found in union with our Creator.  

2 thoughts on “Loneliness in a crowded room

Leave a Reply

