Good Grief

On Sunday morning we were reminiscing with such joy about loved ones who are no longer with us. That evening I received a phonecall with some very sad news. I’ve been walking around doing the usual everyday things but my heart has been floored. Inside I have felt so weak, as if my soul was just a puddle on the floor. While I was washing up I was telling God how sad I was, how my heart hurt for the immediate family, I felt so broken that they were experiencing this devastation and I said “All I can do is rely on you to carry me Lord, I’m so weak with pain” then the Lord spoke to my heart “Why are you crying as if there is no hope?” I felt as if he was gently lifting my chin and in that moment I was reminded how mighty our God is; we have a God who is bigger than all the pain, sickness and death, we have a God of hope. We have a God who understands our worries, fears and questions and is available at all times. We have a God who provides healing, peace and deep joy. We have a God who is in total control. We have a God who we can trust, even more so when we can’t see further than the blur of our eyes that are clouded with tears. He is the inexplicable presence of warmth in times of devastation.

Two verses immediately came to mind and soothed my heart – 

 “He heals the brokenhearted and binds up their wounds.” Psalm 147:3 and 

“Weeping may stay for the night, but rejoicing comes in the morning.” Psalm 30:5. 

When sadness has pushed me down and left me a broken mess on the floor, my hands are up ready for our Lord to pull me up and carry me through. His love leaves no room for worry – 

“The Lord is close to the brokenhearted and saves those who are crushed in spirit.” Psalm 34:18 

He is always with us, pouring out his love and providing us with the strength to go on.

 “Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you” 1 Peter 5:7

Leave a Reply

