I forgive you, I love you

I was thinking about someone I had forgiven a long time ago. This forgiveness covered a huge hurt. As I was thinking about them, I saw that in forgiving them I was able to see beyond the pain caused. I was able to see the person. Just the person and I felt such love for them. I started to feel pretty happy with myself that I had been able to forgive such deep pain and then suddenly the tables turned – what about me? And who were the people who I needed forgiveness from? Pride immediately welled up in me as I told myself I didn’t need anyone to forgive me because I hadn’t done anything *that* bad! And then I thought back over my life and the floodgates opened; I had said, thought and done things that caused hurt, tears and sleepless nights. My choices with words and actions had caused countless people pain. I was sat thinking about one person I had forgiven but I hadn’t given any thought to the numerous people that I had hurt. I hadn’t given any thought to it because my pride blinded me to it. As I ‘sat down’ to take all this in, I found I ‘was seated’ right next to the person I had forgiven. We were in the same boat – two imperfect people who had caused hurt.

To give the words “I forgive you, I love you” is wonderful but to receive the words “I forgive you, I love you” is even more so.

Every single day I am absolutely floored by what Jesus did for me, for us all, at the cross. Floored that he took a sin filled, rotten to the core woman like me, took the punishment that was mine and defeated death to give us LIFE with him forever. A totally undeserved free gift. We have such a good God.

“Jesus stood and said in a loud voice, “Let anyone who is thirsty come to me and drink. Whoever believes in me, as Scripture has said, rivers of living water will flow from within them.”
John 7:37-38

Leave a Reply

