Light 

A couple of weekends back I met a woman sitting against a brick wall. We got chatting and she told me of her plans for the afternoon; she was really looking forward to a bath at her friend’s flat, which led her to make a specific request. I left and returned with the item she needed then asked her if she’d been to any of the churches and started to explain that they do so much during the week than just the Sunday service. She looked at me and her eyes shone so bright and before I could finish my sentence she excitedly whipped out a flyer of the church she goes to and said “I wouldn’t be where I am now if it wasn’t for Him”. She told me a little about her past, a very painful past. I was so blown away by her, she was so full of life, hope and peace. We had such a joy filled conversation and I was still marvelling about her as I sat back in the car that I had to take a moment before driving, I found myself smiling because she’d given me so much hope. It was such a great reminder that what ever our circumstances, God is moving. He is at work everywhere. In ways that continuously blow our minds. Life is messy, full of difficult twists and turns, there is so much hardship, pain, suffering and brokenness but when our trust is in Him he sustains us. The light shines in the darkness and the darkness doesn’t stand a chance!
“For God, who said, “Let light shine out of darkness,” made his light shine in our hearts to give us the light of the knowledge of God’s glory displayed in the face of Christ.” 2 Corinthians 4:6

One thought on “Light 

  1. Pingback: Nazarene Commentary Matthew 5:13-16 Salt and Light shining bright | Belgian Biblestudents - Belgische Bijbelstudenten

Leave a Reply

